Home > Exercise > Seven Down, Two to Go!

Seven Down, Two to Go!

Alright, we’ve come quite a ways! Exact opposite of the last post, actually.

The last post was about the Martian Marathon 10k, and after that came the Trails’ End 5 miler at Pinckney Rec Area, the Capital City Half Marathon, Back to the Beach 10k at Stoney Creek Metropark, and lastly the Flirt with Dirt 10k.

I’m not going to write about each, but here are a few pictures.


Just before the Cap City Half


Medals are second only to race tech t-shirts.


Megan, myself, and Karen with our posters for the Back to the Beach race.

Now that it is less than four months until the Free Press full marathon, I am in training mode. Sort of. The runs are planned out and I’m doing them (except all of today’s run…) but it just doesn’t feel real, like the other times I trained for both half marathons. I get really nervous that my body just won’t be able to run that far, and I don’t like to fail.

Today was supposed to be my LSD run for 9 miles. I only got to 6 miles and had Tim come and pick me up. My legs/calves just hurt so much. I think it’s my shoes. I have new running shoes but I’ve still been using the old crappy ones I’ve had for probably a year now.

Tomorrow morning I am going to try to get up and work on breaking in my new shoes. I also got a pair for Vibram Five Fingers that I would love to start to run in. So far I just wear them normally and creep out Tim.

On a different note, holy hell are running shorts vanity sized! These are both smalls…

I noticed this yesterday before I went running and man, either Reebok likes to size things big or Adidas likes things small… it’s about an inch and a half difference between the two.

Categories: Exercise
  1. July 9, 2012 at 13:25

    Wow, you look very fit! I was a competitive runner for almost 10 years and went through some injuries/discomforts myself. I recommend getting fitted for orthodics. Kind of expensive, but worth it. Also cross-training (swimming, biking, etc) and going to yoga regularly both really helped improve my running and reduced injuries. Good luck! -Emily

    • shortystylee
      July 9, 2012 at 19:30

      Thank you! Right now I’m biking about once a week and I meet with a trainer twice a week to do strength. I’m going to give my new shoes a few more tries. It usually takes a while for me to get used to them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

