Home > Food > Oyakodon Recipe

Oyakodon Recipe

Yesterday I mentioned that I like to make Oyakodon and if anyone actually looked at that picture on Wikipedia they’d think it was a pretty fancy dish. And, well, it’s not. At all. I just happened to make it tonight, so I figured I would share–it’s a pretty easy dish to make if you can find two of the ingredients that are a bit more on the elusive side.

photo(3)

1.5 tbsp Dashi
1 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp Mirin
1 tbsp low sodium soy sauce
1.5 cups water
Onion (as much as you want, we use less since I don’t eat onion)
Chicken Breast (again, as much as you want, we use one breast)
3 eggs
1.5 cups rice (uncooked, about 2 cups cooked)

Those ingredients feed the two of us. The dashi is a soup stock made from bonito fish flakes and is the base of a lot of broths in Japanese cooking. The kind that I buy comes in little pellets. Both dashi and mirin can be found at any good Asian market.

1.) Measure out 1.5 cups of rice and wash them. Even if the bag says “pre-washed,” wash the rice. If you’re using Minute Rice, you’re doing it wrong. It’ll look like this below when you first swish the water around. Wash it until its not as cloudy. Cook the rice however you normally do–I use a Zojirushi Rice Cooker that I bought at Mitsuwa in Chicago.
photo(4)

2.) While the rice is cooking, cut the onion into pieces a little bit bigger than bite size. Again, I don’t like onions so I cut them bigger so that I can fish them out when I dish up the Oyakodon. Cut the chicken into bite size cubes. Set both aside.

3.) After this, in a medium sized bowl, mix together the water, dashi, mirin, soy sauce, and sugar.

4.) When the rice is almost done (my rice cooker counts down from 12 minutes) put the onions and chicken in a pan with taller sides and pour in the broth you made. There should be enough to just cover everything. Cook on high-ish until chicken is cooked through.

photo(5)

5.) While the #4 mixture is cooking, crack 3 eggs into the same bowl (less clean-up) and beat them. Once the chicken is cooked pour the beaten eggs in the pan and cover it to let them cook.

photo(6)

6.) When the eggs have cooked and some of the broth has evaporated, its done. Serve over top of the rice.

By the way, the name Oyakodon is a little bit punny. “Oya” means “parent,” “ko” means “child”…… chicken is the parent of an egg…. haha..ha… okay it’s not really that funny but it is pretty cute.

Definitely not vegan/vegetarian, and not gluten-free. I believe you can buy gluten-free soy sauce, but the dashi has MSG in it. I know MSG is kind of frowned upon all around, but you just can’t get around it here. If you’re worried about sodium or cholestorol, I probably wouldn’t eat this everyday.

Jess

  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 24, 2010 at 14:20

Leave a Reply

