Home > Uncategorized > End of January Update

End of January Update

Finally, a Saturday that wasn’t spent waking up at 4am and sitting a car for four hours. That’s good too, since its ridiculously cold out today and skiing would not be my first choice of activities.

Tim had to go into work today to have some meeting, so I’ve been up since around 7am when he left, but that’s much better than 4am. Hung around on the computer a bit this morning, then made my menu list for this week and grocery list. Went to the bank and then grocery shopping. I had a couscous salad (if you can call it that) with smoked salmon and broccoli. This afternoon I cleaned up the kitchen a bit and then baked some flax seed muffins. I was really stoked about the bag of flax seed I got (two pounds!) since it was very finely ground. The last one was a little more coarse. I did the math and they are only 140 calories each AND they have 2.4 grams of Omega-3s in them–(Mayo Clinic recommends 1.6 grams per day.

1.) Read the above 26 books in 2010. I’ve finished 3 of the books on the list and I am now onto Everything I Want to Do is Illegal by Joel Salatin. Poisonwood Bible took a while, and I flew through South of the Border, West of the Sun–Murakami novels are such quick reads.
2.) Drink 64 oz. of water each day. I think I’ve been doing well on this, and I have actually only had coffee once since posting these rules (mostly because the coffee at work isn’t work wasting the energy on).
3.) Work out at least 5 times per week. For the week of January 24th to 30th, I went on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday.
4.) Lose 20 pounds. 123.5 lbs when I weighed myself this morning. I think I am going to start back on the strict calorie counting. It’s all about getting into the swing of it again–and preparing for what I’m going to eat. Although, those muffins I made are like little fiber bricks so I feel like I’m immobile right now, hah.
5.) Bring lunch to work at least 4 days per week. Week of January 24th to 30th was a fail, only two days out of five (but of the three times, I went I only paid for it once. Tim paid for a thank-you lunch one day and I got a birthday coupon from Noodles and Company that I used.)
6.) Remember to take my Vitamin daily. Easy. I usually have a spare one in my lunch box in case I forget.
7.) Try my best to be dairy free.
List of milk from Monday until now:
Monday: none!
Tuesday: cheese from lunch burrito; Lobster bisque at dinner
Wednesday: slice of cheese from dinner at Outback,
Thursday: none!
Friday: cheese on pasta at Noodles (forgot to tell them no), cheese in white bean chicken chili at Olga’s (I don’t think they can take it out, but I could’ve gotten the Peasant soup that I also like and avoided it)
Saturday: none!
8.) Go to bed earlier. I’m usually good on this one, since we don’t really watch any shows that are on past 10pm, except Law & Order, but we record that.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. g
    March 3, 2010 at 23:59

    February update please!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

