Home > Food, Life > Shrimp Stir-fry with Brown Rice

Shrimp Stir-fry with Brown Rice

This was my Wednesday night dinner this past week. It was actually my first time using my beloved rice cooker for anything other than white rice.

1 cup brown rice (uncooked): Whole Foods bulk bin
.25 pounds medium shrimp: Monahan’s Seafood
zucchini, broccoli: Farmer’s Market
asparagus: People’s Food Co-op

1.) Start rice in rice cooker. Mine has its own settings and water mark for brown rice. Not sure how long it took since I went for a walk when it was cooking. A lot longer than white rice, though.

2.) Peel and de-vein shrimp. Cut up zucchini, broccoli, and asparagus.

3.) I start making the stir-fry once my rice cooker starts its 12 minutes left countdown. I friend the veggies in about a tablespoon of EVOO in a pan and splashed some water on it when I felt necessary. I hate raw broccoli.

4.) When veggies are about done, make an area in middle of pan and add shrimp. I put some pepper and chili powder on them first. Start to cook them on one side and right before I turned them I poured in about a tablespoon or so of teriyaki sauce that I had in the fridge. Flip and let them cook on the other side. Make sure they don’t get rubbery!

end result!


Categories: Food, Life Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

