Home > Food, Life, Weekly Menu > Plantains, coconut, and crepes

Plantains, coconut, and crepes

Weekly Menu
… in no particular order……. this is from Saturday (10/30/10)

1.) Quinoa and Cauliflower
2.) Pasta with Italian sausage & Sauce from Al Dente Pasta
3.) Bean Burgers and Mac & Cheese
4.) Leftover Japanese Curry
5.) Stir Fry with Noodles (green pepper, bok choy, carrots)

Bulk: quinoa, pasta, most spices for burgers
Local: cauliflower, italian sausage, Al Dente pasta sauce, soy milk, whole wheat flour, green pepper, bok choy, carrots

First, to start off some with some epicness, my car, the Satillac, got to 125,000 miles this weekend! Yay, it still works… for the most part.

Before we went to the farmer’s market and food co-op we had breakfast at Northside Grill again. It was the first time we actually had to wait outside for a table. They do have some sweet coffee outside for people waiting 🙂 I ended up mixing it up a bit this time and got the Wall Streeter breakfast sammich. Fried egg, American cheese, and sausage on an English muffin, plus hash browns.

One of my coworkers took me out to lunch on Friday so I had the lunch I brought instead on Saturday. Just some lentil soup leftovers and pasta toss leftovers.

Dinner on Saturday was bean burger patties and Annie’s Mac & Cheese. Pretty much all the ingredients below, except for the whole wheat flour for the burger mix.

All done! Sweet new dishes I got at HomeGoods. Having the leftovers from this for lunch at work Monday.

On Sunday morning, Tim and I met up with our friends Justin and Becky for breakfast at Cafe Zola. There was really dark coffee in French Presses that Justin was brave enough to press at our table… and I finally got that crepe I’d been craving since seeing the crepe shack at Breckenridge almost a year ago. I had a sweet crepe with raspberry preserves and almond-hazelnut butter. I wish they had a savory crepe with swiss, spinach, and mushrooms, but it had onions in it I believe.

After breakfast, we hung out at the apartment for a while and then Tim and I went to the last of our cooking classes at Hollanders. This was a tropical Indian style dinner. There was a plantain stir-fry, masala-fried shrimp, coconut rice, and mango lassi. I was surprised that I liked the coconut rice so much, since I normally eschew anything remotely having to do with coconut (except coconut milk in curries). From there we headed to the co-op to refill out olive jar–of course, making a mess and smelling like EVOO along with that.

We made the drive up to Tim’s parents in Montrose for dinner. Swiss steak, brown rice, and broccoli… but no picture. Now we’re back at home, ignoring Halloween, and watching Battlestar Galactica.

Oh, and I need to think of an appetizer to bring to Christmas. I am thinking of either making/buyer some pita and assorted breads, making crackers, and making a smattering of different types of spreads (hummus, sun-dried tomato & roasted garlic, etc.)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

