Home > Food, Recipe > Stir Fry Noodles with Carrots, Bok Choy, and Pepper

Stir Fry Noodles with Carrots, Bok Choy, and Pepper

Stir Fry Noodles with Carrots, Bok Choy, & Green Pepper
Makes 3 servings. Vegan. Gluten-free.

Veggie Mix Ingredients
7 ounces ‘stir fry noodles.’ I used Thai Kitchen rice noodles since they don’t come with sauce.
Carrots, sliced matchstick/julienne style
Green pepper, sliced in strips
3 Bok choy bunches, cut stalks in small pieces, and leafy parts in strips
2 tablespoons EVOO

Sauce Ingredients
(no real measurements were taken)
-spoonful of sugar (I used a small spoon, as opposed to a soup spoon)
-ketchup (~1 tablespoon)
-mirin (~1 teaspoon)
-gluten-free soy sauce (~2 tablespoons)

Start a large pot of water boiling for the noodles. While that is heating up, heat EVOO in a larger pan (I used the kind with straight sides) over medium heat. I really don’t like very crunchy carrots, so I always fry my carrots in olive oil for a little bit. Add some water, let it evaporate, etc. Once those are done to your liking, add the bok choy stalks. Saute for about 2-3 minutes, then add green peppers.

Mix all of the sauce ingredients together in a small bowl. They won’t mix completely it’ll be kind of grainy from the sugar.

Hopefully while doing all of this, your water has started to boil and you added the noodles. Best case scenario is that the noodles are cooked as soon as the veggie mix is done.

After green peppers are done, add the leafy bits of the bok choy and the sauce mixture. Stir a little bit, and then add the noodles to the pan. Fold noodles and veggies together and cook until the sauce has mixed in well.

It was very yummy 🙂 I think the sugar and the ketchup mixed well together with everything. I was a little apprehensive about putting ketchup in it… but I figured since I put barbecue sauce in my soy sauce mixes sometimes, that the ketchup should be fine. And it was!

This can be made gluten-free if you use soy sauce without gluten in it. I don’t believe there is a problem with any of the other ingredients. The noodles I used were rice noodles (rice + water) and I checked out the ketchup and mirin on their respective brand’s websites.

I got this at….
Carrots, Pepper, Bok choy: Ann Arbor Farmer’s Market
Sugar, Soy sauce, EVOO, Thai Kitchen Rice Noodles: People’s Food Co-op
Ketchup: no clue. Its been in the fridge for a while….
Mirin: Tsai Grocery

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

