Home > Food, Life > Remember, remember…

Remember, remember…

Happy Guy Fawke’s Day!
Maybe I’ll see if there is a way I can watch V for Vendetta tonight.
Although, after the elections, maybe actually blowing up parliament isn’t a bad idea šŸ˜›

Anyways, dinner two nights ago at the Gandy Dancer was good. I don’t understand all of the reviews about it having bad service. I’ve never had service that I didn’t like – there when you need them, not there when you don’t need them. Every server has always been very informed about the menu as well (and I heard one explaining which items used veg broth versus chicken broth to a table a little ways away, too).

Bread. New England Clam Chowder. Surf & Turf- petite filet and lobster tail, with Dynamite crab topping (spicy, but not too spicy. Good use of sriracha sauce.) Key Lime Pie. Nom.

Also, I didn’t pay for any of it, since it was for work, so that is a big plus.

Last night, Tim and I went to the Corner Brewery in Ypsi for the Washtenaw Bicycling and Walking Coalition’s annual meeting.

One of the things I think is really cool, from meeting the Ann Arbor Greenway people, and working at the Homegrown Festival, and Slow Food Huron Valley, is that I am starting to see the same people. I sat next to someone that we talked to for a long time at the Homegrown Festival last night at the meeting.

There were three speakers last night, all of which I thought were very interesting.

The first was Rob Pulcipher, who recently published his book Dirt Road Washtenaw. It is all about his adventures bicycling on the dirt roads of Washtenaw county. The book is full of the history of the road system, pictures of the landscape and his interesting finds, and also maps out routes around Washtenaw County.

Next was a presentation by Common Cycle, a group that aims to eventually create a bike co-op in Ann Arbor, with a public space and shared tools, parts, and helps for members or volunteers. Right now has been setting up shop as a mobile bike repair stand at the Farmer’s Market and Artisan’s Markets.

Lastly, John Lindenmayer, the Associate Director of the League of Michigan Bicyclists talked to us about their accomplishments for the year, including the Complete Streets legislation, Vulnerable User, and driver education bills, and their outlook for next year.

Overall, it was a good meeting. I really like the Corner Brewery, despite that I don’t really drink (and if I chose to drink, it would most likely be at a micro-brewery). That place has the type of brick walls I long for in a industrial loft apartment.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

