Home > Food > Bean Burgers and Herbed Scalloped Potatoes

Bean Burgers and Herbed Scalloped Potatoes

Bean Burger
14 oz can of kidney beans (I rinse them)
4 tablespoons of flour (stone ground whole wheat)
1 tablespoon whole wheat bread crumbs
Non-measured amounts of: onion powder, cumin, paprika, chili powder, garlic powder

Mash with fork. Form into 4 patties. Place on plate and let them hang out in the fridge for about 10 minutes. Heat some oil over medium heat in a pan. Once oil is hot (the “splash water at it” test is good for this) place all patties in and cook for a while. Flip. Cook some more. I hardly ever (read: never) get around to having a bun for these things.

And with that, my apprehensiveness surrounding nutritional yeast is gone. It does smell kinda weird just in the jar…. so I don’t think I’m going to be sprinkling it on pasta as a substitute for parmesan anytime soon.

These scalloped potatoes were very good. Even Tim liked them. And no lactose BS so no stomach tyranny so far. I attempted to use mental math to halve the Veganomicon recipe and when I took it out of the oven at the 35 minute mark I just need to add a bit more nutritional yeast since the soymilk/olive oil/veg broth combo had consumed some of it. The extra 15 minutes of non-foil baking at the end made some of them nice and crispy…. maybe I could even try out the broiler? I’ve never actually attempted to use it before >_<

Oh well, that’s for next time šŸ™‚

  1. December 3, 2010 at 09:59

    Your bean burgers look delicious and so simple to make. I’m enjoying reading your posts. Did you get a kindle? I didn’t think I would like one but received it as a gift and it is awesome. Really helps with de-cluttering my nightstand.

  2. shortystylee
    December 3, 2010 at 10:06

    Thank you! They’re really versatile too depending on what kinds of spices will go with the rest of your meal. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get the Kindle last night šŸ˜¦ We have a $75 Best Buy coupon and the store near us was all sold out. Husband will check at the store near his work today so hopefully today will be the day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

