Home > Food > Sansu – East Lansing

Sansu – East Lansing

Thursday night after the Westboro Baptist Church counter-protest, myself and two of my friends went out to dinner at Sansu Japanese restaurant in East Lansing. We didn’t go there much when I was actually a student since it was pretty far away from our dorms and seemed more expensive than the closer Japanese restaurants. The prices didn’t seem that bad this time (maybe they’ve changed?) or maybe I just have more money now than when I was 18. They seemed normal for the same type of restaurant in Ann Arbor.

Soup & Salad

Karen & Shari’s differing views on salad

Veggie Gyoza

Egg Sushi

California Roll & Cucumber Rolls, My Avocado Roll

This was my first time attempting to eat vegetarian at a Japanese restaurant. It was hard not to just order the eel and avocado roll (the eel sauce is all I want really…). Yes, I am ignoring whatever is used in the broth for the miso soup. There is probably dashi stock in it, but LA LA LA LA LA I CAN’T HEAR YOU. I was very surprised to see green veggie gyoza, but they were very good… although I think they were deep fried and not pan-fried like I am used to. The egg sushi was very good (although there was probably dashi in that too). I was really happy about the grapes and oranges (?) with the gyoza, they made a nice little dessert instead of having to order anything else.

  1. November 19, 2010 at 20:22

    Those green gyoza look really awesome! And I love that egg sushi, though I hadn’t even considered that it would have been added to it… weird.

  2. shortystylee
    November 19, 2010 at 21:22

    Some places only mix sugar and soy sauce in the whisked egg, but others also use the bonito dashi stock too. There are a lot of times when in Japanese cuisine that vegetarian = pescetarian.

  3. January 18, 2011 at 01:11

    The sushi looks good!
    My family and I tried our hand at sushi a few weeks ago and it came out so good and it was really easy to do. You should check out my blog post with a step by step process on how we did it
    http://olara21.wordpress.com/2010/12/11/sushi/

    After making them we’ve made them at least 5 times since!
    Good Luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

