Home > Food > Three Day Week

Three Day Week

Thanks to Thanksgiving Day this week, I’ve only got one day left of work.
Thanks to Thanksgiving Day this week, it is unbearably slow at work today (hence the blogging). I could do some filing, but yea, not as entertaining (and I need something to do tomorrow as well).

Again though, there are some meals to catch up with.

Saturday we had our friend Brian with us for dinner and we had some rather simple stir fry.

Red Pepper (not shown, since I don’t like it), snow peas, broccoli, carrot, baby bok choy, and romanesco cauliflower

Cafe Japon was at the Farmer’s Market this weekend so I was able to get some shokupan… which means French toast for breakfast 🙂 I am almost out of the preserves I got at the JamPot up north…

Sunday Breakfast

I decided that on Sunday afternoon that I was going to head out to downtown and maybe look at some Christmas presents for people and pick up more shampoo at the food co-op. Is it weird to post an outfit? Because I am. Please ignore that knick-knacks (ps I made the little clay dudes!)

I came back with two gifts for people from Heavenly Metal and some much needed bar shampoo, seeing as I ran out on Friday. I really want to get some pretty bar shampoos from Lush, since they are awesomely colored and smell nice, but ALL of them have SLS listed as an ingredient… so sorry Lush. Twelve Oaks is too far away for me to drive to get some anyways.

Sunday afternoon we went out to the movies to see the new Harry Potter and I was totally surprised that it was already dark when we got out! Given it is a 2.5 hour long movie and it started at 3:15pm… Dinner was simple. Marinara sauce from Veganomicon, some bow-tie pasta I had in the cupboard, and Gimme Lean veggie ground beef crumbles. First time using the veggie ground beef and it was rather successful. I had to spice it up a bit with a bunch of spices since I bought the plain style, but once it was all mixed up in the sauce it was really good.

Monday night dinner marked another first– Chickpea cutlets from Veganomicon and my first time using vital wheat gluten. I wasn’t quite sure about the “strings of gluten” they were talking about and then BAM I became very familiar. The cutlets were simple, but needed a bit more spice which I’ll do next time. I just wanted to make them according to the recipe first so I would have something to base variations off of. Also included were baked potato wedges and stir-fried baby bok choy.

Tomorrow morning I’ll be heading down to the Farmer’s Market to pick up my turkey from Ernst Farms, then one more day of work and vacation until Monday!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

