Home > Life > A Little Bit Less

A Little Bit Less

… and less, and less, and less.

Today is being spent getting one of my post holiday rituals done: making chicken and veg stock, all the while thinking of holidays and consumerism and stuff. Of course, it is Black Friday.

Big surprise: I don’t go out at 3am to buy shit I don’t need.
I will be going to Birch Run Outlets tomorrow, out of necessity. I need some new pants, almost all of the ones I own are too big now (but that is besides the point).

I don’t want to be defined by the number of possessions that I don’t have, like it seems a lot of minimalists do. I also don’t want to be defined by the number that I do have.

“The things you own end up owning you. It’s only after you lose everything that you’re free to do anything.”

Thanks, Tyler Durden Chuck Palahniuk.

I started to make a list–mostly to figure out what I have and what I need. I am grouping things that go together as one item. I have 106 items on it, and I am not done. This is including clothes, computer items, ski items, and bike items right now. Only the stuff that belongs exclusively to me. It does not include yet any of my books, knick-knacks, and random stuff that is in boxes in closets. Those items will get added as they are pared down. Anything I don’t need will get gifted, donated, recycled, sold, free-cycled, etc… and hopefully not thrown away.

On Sunday, I will be donating two (garbage) bags of clothes and one bag of shoes. I will also be taking many many books to the Ann Arbor Library as well.

Sometimes it just feels good to let stuff go.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

