Home > Food, Life, Recipe > French Toast Breakfast, Chicken Soup Dinner

French Toast Breakfast, Chicken Soup Dinner

I used up the last of my cranberry lemon with pecan preserves (that I got at the JamPot) this morning. I have a jar of lemon marmalade to look forward to now.

French Toast! Co-starring blueberry yogurt, a little bit of granola, and coffee.

Bread: Shokupan from Cafe Japon
Eggs: Ernst Farms
Soy Milk: Edensoy. Soybeans from Michigan Thumb area.
Yogurt: Thomas Organic Creamery
Coffee: Rich French Neighbor from Roosroast

We did a little bit of running around today: Best Buy (bought nothing, checked out Kindles), Victoria’s Secret at the mall, and the Salvation Army. I dropped off two garbage bags of clothes and one of shoes at the donation dock – it feels really good to have clothes that I wasn’t wearing and those that don’t fit anymore to just be out of the way.

At around 5pm, Tim decided that he wanted to have chicken noodle soup for dinner, so we went to the store to pick up egg noodles. The only recipe that I had was the “8 cups of water plus entire chicken in the pot” kind, so I figured I could just wing it. I’d had chicken noodle soup enough times in 24 years to know what it tastes like.

Spur of the Moment Chicken Noodle Soup
Ingredients–
8 cups of chicken stock (good if you’ve got homemade on-hand frozen)
2 carrots, peeled and sliced
2 celery stalks, diced
1 zucchini, sliced
Approx 2.5 cups of chicken, white/dark meat, torn up
Egg noodles (I think I used about 2 cups? I like a very noodle-y soup)
3 cloves of garlic, minced finely or through a press (I used one clove of elephant ear garlic)
Dashes of parsley, basil, paprika, crushed red pepper, onion powder, sea salt, & black pepper

Defrost chicken broth and pour into “big enough” soup pot on medium high. Add carrots, garlic, and spices and bring to a boil. Let boil for a few minutes and bring down to lower heat. Once carrots are tender, add celery and chicken. The chicken won’t take long to heat up. The egg noodles I used take about 3 minutes to cook according to the package, so I added the zucchini and noodles at the same time. Just check and make sure the noodles are done and everything else should be ready too 🙂

Aprons make me feel fancy. I got this one from Questionable Content, a webcomic I read.

Finished product, with a focaccia roll

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

