Home > Food, Life, Weekly Menu > Improvisation

Improvisation

One of the things that people probably find hardest in my kitchen, aside from fitting more than one person in it, is that there are no paper towels. I don’t think I have had them in over a year and a half, and one of the only times I really wish I did was when I make baked tofu. They’re super helpful when you press the tofu to get the excess water out… but I think I may have found a way around it.

Ta-da! Tea towels!

Dinner was BBQ Tofu, stir-fried baby bok choy, and (more!) roasted cauliflower. I really just can’t stay away from that stuff 🙂

The bok choy was really good this time. I didn’t add sugar like the recipe says, but instead I used juice from half a clementine. It was slightly citrusy, but not overpowering.

I was up in East Lansing for a lot of the weekend, so here is how the weekly menu is looking. I made the roasted chicken last night (thankfully it thawed out in time!).

Weekly Menu
-Roasted Chicken, Peas & Corn, Israeli Couscous
-Spaghetti with Marinara Sauce**
-Chicken Noodle Soup
-Curry Quinoa & Cauliflower (found tiny romanescos)
-Leftovers!

A friend of my mom and her boyfriend has a farm out in St. Clair and I have two nice, free-range, organic roaster chickens in my freezer from him. I really need to learn how to cut the chicken into pieces before cooking, but for right now, I have been just sticking with roasting them when I have one.

  1. December 6, 2010 at 13:52

    I just priced an organic, free-range chicken at the local health food store & it was $18 bucks! now that I’ve decided not to buy commercially produced chicken, I think I will be using chicken as a condiment instead of the main event.

    • shortystylee
      December 7, 2010 at 21:12

      They are totally expensive 😦 I’ve been lucky to get some for free through my mom. I just make sure to try to stretch the meat–the one I cooked on Sunday was dinner that night for two, then at least four servings of soup tonight, and will shortly get used for chicken stock.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

