Home > Food, Life, Weekly Menu > Saturday Planning – 1/16 to 1/22

Saturday Planning – 1/16 to 1/22

Especially in the winter, I feel as though I get home from work each night only to want to stare at the fridge, say nothing is in there, and promptly go out to eat.

The only way I am able to combat this is to devote some of my time each Saturday morning to decide the following:

  • what is still in the fridge/cupboards
  • what new recipes I can try and what meals we’ll eat for next week
  • what groceries we need to pick up that day

I try to buy all of my groceries once a week. I really do not like to have to drop by the grocery store after work to pick up little extras and I can’t even imagine how some people buy groceries every day just for that evening’s meal. Not planning just sounds inefficient and expensive, in my opinion.

With that, here is my meal plan for 1/16/2011 to 1/22/2011.

Recipes for both the BBQ Tofu (super easy) and Lasagna can be found in the Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero.

Also on the shopping list, aside from ingredients I need for those meals, is of course foods for breakfast and lunch. Tim eats the same sandwich and chips every day and I have the same blueberry yogurt and granola for breakfast every weekday. Pretty simple.

Another Aspect to Menu Planning

Do you bring your reusable bags? Yea, well, that’s good. Do you put your oranges and bananas in plastic bags, and then put them into your reusable bag? Do you see where I am going here? More people really need to realize that plastic produce bags are part of the problem as well. Beth Terry at My Plastic-Free Life would tell you that you don’t need them.

Truth be told, I’m not scared of my broccoli, lettuce, anything touching the grocery cart. Not at all. If things are really small, like mushrooms or snow peas, I simply use a handy fabric produce bag. The ones I have are like below, and are from Reuse-It.

I’ve used them all over, not just at my food co-op. Even Kroger and Busch’s have been able to figure them out!

Moral of the story is to take inventory of your kitchen, plan your menu, and also to plan your reusable containers! Trying bring some containers with you for cheese or deli counter foods – just weigh the dish first to get the tare weight. It’s surprisingly easy!

  1. January 15, 2011 at 22:04

    Your menu sounds awesome, and I really am glad you said what you did about putting plastic bags inside the reusable bags. Always seems absurd to me, and is incredibly normal to do here in Japan. It’s slowly changing, but I still get the odd look or two when I opt out of the bags. People get it on some level, but sometimes they’re still surprised. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • shortystylee
      January 16, 2011 at 08:41

      Thanks! I’ve actually never had split pea soup before so I thought it was time to try it ๐Ÿ™‚ I really never understood the point of putting loose fruit/veg into bags – even if it is a softer type, like tomatoes or peaches, a thin layer of plastic is not going to protect it from bruising! My host mom always took her own bags to the grocery and when I lived on my own I just used my backpack since I had to bike back to the dorms anyways ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

