Home > Exercise, Food, Life > Goal Keeper: first check-in!

Goal Keeper: first check-in!

The only way that you can keep your goals is if you keep yourself accountable – not only to yourself but to those around you. That’s why I post my goals on here, that’s why I update my Twitter. Even if no one responds, I feel as if I have an obligation to keep my goals.

Earlier this week I tweeted and posted about wanting to wake up at 5:30am to ride on the trainer. 5:30am came and I just did not feel like getting out of bed. I reset my alarm for 6am. 6am came and I made myself put on those workout clothes and go on the bike.

It felt great afterward to know that I kept that goal.

Because of that, whether good or bad, I’m going to try to check-in on Sundays to go over who my goals when the past Saturday to Saturday.

2011 Goals
1.) Lose 13.5 pounds (from 113.5 to 100 pounds)
Hopefully this will go smoothly. I weighed myself Friday this week and was 110.5 pounds. Not counting anything yet until I see consistency for a couple of weeks. (Always note that I am 4’11” and what I choose to do for my body is not necessarily right for your height/build/body type.) [Holy crap though! Three pounds since the beginning of the year? I blame you, skiing.]

2.) Work out five times per week.

  • Saturday: skiing up at Crystal Mountain
  • Sunday: n/a
  • Monday: 6am workout with Sarah (1 hr); 45 minutes on bike after work
  • Tuesday: one hour on trainer (half in the morning, half after work)
  • Wednesday: 6:30am: 20 min on bike; 5:30pm workout with Sarah (1hr)
  • Thursday: day off!
  • Friday: day off
  • Saturday: one hour on the trainer in the evening

3.) Run a 5k
I have signed up for a 5k on February 6th in Novi, MI. I am also tossing about the idea of signing up for the Warrior Dash this summer (looks pretty amusing!).

4.) Run/bike a duathlon
Thinking about signing up for the Willow Metropark Duathlon. It is 5k run, 20k bike, then another 5k run. Not signed up yet. I still have a while and I need to work up the running distances and run-bike-run stamina.

5.) Eat meat only once per day or not at all.

  • Saturday: 1
  • Sunday: 0
  • Monday: 0
  • Tuesday: 1
  • Wednesday: 1
  • Thursday: 1
  • Friday: 1
  • Saturday: 1

6.) Eat dinner out once per week or not at all.
This past week we ate out on Saturday lunch and dinner because we were at the ski hill for lunch and then a Mexican restaurant in Benzonia for dinner, and then on Friday night we had dinner at BeWon Korean Restaurant (blog post coming up!) right around the corner from my apartment.

7.) Volunteer with Earthworks Urban Farm in Detroit and Growing Hope in Ypsilanti.
I’ll be waiting until Spring to start working on these.

8.) Have my own garden in a Project Grow community garden.
Signed up! Just waiting on acceptance and to know which site I will be at.

9.) Continue posting about the yummy food I make and eat
No problem!
__________________________________________________________
All in all, I think I did really well this week 🙂 Eating went well and exercising also went well! I bought two new pairs of work pants back in November because my previous were so big I couldn’t stand it (I could take them off without undoing them)… and now those two pairs are two big. Seriously, having my bike on the trainer in the living room is golden.

I hope so much that I am able to be chosen for the Project Grow Community Garden Plot. I applied for a full plot in either Clague (near the apartment) or County Farm Park (a little farther but it has a lot more plots). Apparently I won’t find out which plot I got or even if I got one in the first place until May! MAY! Hope this happens a lot sooner.

I will definitely be passing around a lot of veggies this summer to lucky friends if I get this space!

  1. g
    January 16, 2011 at 09:34

    For a moment, when I just read the title, I thought this was a sports related post. With all that’s happening in the sports world these days, this is a good eye catcher. Nevertheless, I hope you get to keep all your goals and score more 🙂

    • shortystylee
      January 16, 2011 at 13:36

      Thanks, G! I’ve really been trying to get better at running. Maybe one year we can both run the Canal Run 🙂

  2. thebettylife
    January 16, 2011 at 13:27

    Good luck with your weight loss goals. Look forward to reading your progress. Betty 🙂 xx

    • shortystylee
      January 16, 2011 at 13:40

      Thank you for the comment and good luck wishes 🙂 I’ll be writing once a week about my progress, as a way to keep myself accountable. I’ll definitely be checking out your blog too!

      Jessica

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

