Home > Food, Life, Recipe > Tofu Scramble with Veggies and Couscous

Tofu Scramble with Veggies and Couscous

I have a tendency to just get to cooking and make up dinner as I go along. Not going to lie, it was semi-planned. I knew it would have tofu, carrots, and broccoli. But after that, it really is all up to chance.

Tofu Scramble with Veggies and Couscous

makes 2 servings, with some couscous leftover

Ingredients
Half block of tofu, cut into cubes
3 carrots, peeled and sliced into rounds
Crown of broccoli, cut up
1/4 teaspoon cumin seeds
1/4 teaspoon brown mustard seeds
1 teaspoon turmeric
1 teaspoon curry powder
1 cup dry couscous
2 cups water
2 tablespoons peanut oil

Note: You can use extra virgin olive oil if you like. I’m not sure which one is better for you, but I love the way that peanut oil smells.

  1. Heat peanut oil in a pan over medium heat. Add in cumin seeds and mustard seeds, cover.
  2. When they start popping, add in tofu. Stir fry tofu and break it down into small pieces and add in carrot and turmeric. Stir to incorporate. Add water as needed so nothing sticks or burns.
  3. Once carrots have gotten softer, add some water, the broccoli, and cover to steam the broccoli.
  4. Halfway through broccoli steaming, add in curry powder and stir well to incorporate. Steam until broccoli is at your desired crunchiness level.
  5. When you start the broccoli steaming, get two cups of water to a boil in a small sauce pan. Once water boils, add couscous, cover, and take off heat. It is done in about five minutes.

I never understood how people could actually eat tofu as if it was scrambled eggs…. well now, I can totally understand. Maybe I’ll have to try out one of those ‘egg’ strata or quiche type dishes from the Veganomicon one of these days.

You should have about half the couscous you made as leftovers. It works out great substituted for rice in a stir fry or cold in a non-pasta pasta salad.

  1. January 18, 2011 at 21:46

    That sounds good!! I also had a tofu scramble tonight but with broccoli and vegan chorizo sausage!! yum yum!!

  2. shortystylee
    January 19, 2011 at 20:39

    Thanks! I was super surprised that everything turned out okay. I had more of a brown Chinese-style soy-based sauce all ready for this, but as I kept breaking up the tofu I ditched that idea and went with the turmeric instead. I’ve got the nutritional yeast in my pantry but wasn’t going for anything cheezy.

    Jessica

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

