Home > Food, Life > Ann Arbor Restaurant Week: Melange Bistro

Ann Arbor Restaurant Week: Melange Bistro

Holy crap, did it take us a long time to decide where to eat at for restaurant week! Even though I knew when it was coming it still was able to sneak up on us.

We finally settled on Melange Bistro, after tossing around the Earle, Chop House, Shalimar, Marnee Thai, and some other places. I wouldn’t have minded going to the others (especially Chop House, but they didn’t have a choice for first course, and I don’t like salad) but we decided on Melange since it had a pretty interesting menu and I had always wondered what it was.

Melange is on Main Street, pretty close to Conor’s and it is actually downstairs. I’d always seen the glass doors and the stairs and wondered what the heck went on down there.

The decoration and overall ambiance was (in my words) “oh-so-trendy,” but not to the point of ridiculousness. It was a bit busy, which I expected since it was 7pm and restaurant week. We were able to have our dinner in a little under two hours, which is a nice change from just plowing through dinner in front of the TV so I can keep doing other things.

The deal there was $25 per person for appetizer, entree, and dessert.

Coconut Curry Potato Croquettes, with balsamic lentils

I was really excited about those croquettes and I was not disappointed… but it takes a lot to disappoint me when it comes to potato croquettes. I had totally forgotten about the lentils until I got the dish. They were cooked perfectly, I thought. Not mushy with a little bit of a bite to them (can you cook lentils al dente?).

Jumbo shrimp, jasmine rice, and bok choy with garlic chili sauce

Such a relief to get shrimp that weren’t tiny! Good spiciness level, a little bit sweet too.

Cheesecake! No description needed 😀

The cheesecake was great and it was the perfect dessert to come after a slightly spicy entree.

Overall, it was a good experience. I would probably go back to try some more of the food… also to hope to get seated in the rounded “in the wall” tables. We aren’t wine bar people and from some of the reviews I read online the Friday and Saturday night drinking crowd (there is a DJ those nights) is a little Jersey Shore. I could totally picture that. Dinner on a weeknight is more my style 🙂

  1. January 21, 2011 at 16:08

    yum. thanks for sharing!

    • shortystylee
      January 24, 2011 at 10:41

      It was awesome! I’m lucky that this time of year we have a lot of reasons excuses to go out for dinner 🙂

  1. January 21, 2011 at 10:37

Leave a Reply

