Home > Exercise, Food, Life > Goal Keeper: Part Deux

Goal Keeper: Part Deux

The only way that you can keep your goals is if you keep yourself accountable – not only to yourself but to those around you. That’s why I post my goals on here, that’s why I update my Twitter. Even if no one responds, I feel as if I have an obligation to keep my goals.

Whether good or bad, I’m going to try to check-in on Sundays to go over who my goals when the past Sunday to Saturday.

2011 Goals
1.) Lose 13.5 pounds (from 113.5 to 100 pounds)
Current Weight: 110-111 pounds
I am totally convinced that this is going to take a long time. This past week I saw anywhere from 110 to 111 pounds, and 109.5 at one hop on the scale.

2.) Work out five times per week.

  • Saturday: one hour on trainer (evening) 
  • Sunday: 40 minutes on trainer
  • Monday: 6am workout with Sarah (1 hr)
  • Tuesday: 30 minutes on trainer (morning)
  • Wednesday: 5:30pm workout with Sarah (1hr)
  • Thursday: day off!
  • Friday: 40 minutes on the trainer
  • Saturday: skiing at Crystal Mountain!

3.) Run a 5k
I have signed up for a 5k on February 6th in Novi, MI. I really need to get back to the gym and actually runing since it is only two weeks away. I need to go run today as well, to get off to a good start at that. I have no real goals for a finishing time, but it would be sweet if I could do it without stopping. My main worry is the cold weather. Seriously, February in Michigan? What was I thinking??

4.) Run/bike a duathlon
Thinking about signing up for the Willow Metropark Duathlon. It is 5k run, 20k bike, then another 5k run. Not signed up yet… I’m still thinking about it. I have been riding the trainer a lot to get used to being in the saddle. There are also some plans in the works to ride a century (100 miles) for the Race for the Cure this year as well.

5.) Eat meat only once per day or not at all.

  • Sunday: 0
  • Monday: 0
  • Tuesday: 0
  • Wednesday: 1
  • Thursday: 1
  • Friday: 1
  • Saturday: 0

6.) Eat dinner out once per week or not at all.
This week is Ann Arbor Restaurant Week and I cannot pass up a good deal, the chance to eat at a locally-owned restaurant, and a place that I’ve never been too before. This Thursday we went out for dinner at Melange Bistro. This weekend was also a skiing weekend but since my friend Megan now officially has a gluten allergy, I packed food for us for the drive up and back down on Saturday night.

7.) Volunteer with Earthworks Urban Farm in Detroit and Growing Hope in Ypsilanti.
I’ll be waiting until Spring to start working on these.

8.) Have my own garden in a Project Grow community garden.
Still haven’t heard from Project Grow…. and it still isn’t May yet. I should figure out the size of a full plot and start planning.

9.) Continue posting about the yummy food I make and eat.
I feel like I might as well just take this one out of here, since it’s pretty simple 🙂

__________________________________________________________
I have a couple of goals that are really easy, some that are medium and just take a little bit of thought beforehand, and some that are a bit more challenging.

It still blows my mind that I used to be 25 pounds heavier than I am now. In fact, I am regularly amazed at that every time I pick up weights in the gym and think of how heavy they feel, then think of carrying around that amount of weight.

I really need to start working on the running more. It is so hard for me to get out to the gym, despite that it is so close, especially when I know I can at least get some exercise on the trainer.

I don’t want to look like an idiot at the 5k though, so today I am definitely going to go running. (Internets, hold me accountable!)

  1. January 23, 2011 at 15:50

    I’m jealous of your drive AND absolutely rooting for you, Jessica!! Don’t forget the sunscreen. 😉

    • shortystylee
      January 24, 2011 at 10:38

      Thanks! I actually have SPF-45 lip balm that I use when skiing, so the sunscreen part is oddly applicable!

  2. thebettylife
    January 23, 2011 at 16:20

    Good luck with your goals!! By the way I have tagged you: http://thebettylife.wordpress.com/2011/01/23/thebettylife-stylish-blogger-award/

    Have a great day! Betty xxx

    • shortystylee
      January 24, 2011 at 10:38

      Thanks!

      And thanks for the tag! That’s my first one too. Not sure if I’ll be able to reciprocate with the tagging as I don’t have many bloggy friends yet, but I can definitely do random 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

