Home > Food, Life, Weekly Menu > Saturday Planning – 1/30 to 2/5

Saturday Planning – 1/30 to 2/5

Planning my menus on Saturday before my grocery shopping trip is my go-to method for keeping organized and saving money by only buying what I need.

With that, here is my meal plan for 1/30/2011 to 2/5/2011, in no particular order.

  • Potato Leek Soup with Rosemary Tomato Scones
  • Stir Fry with Brown Rice
  • Tofu Scramble with Pasta Sauce (last week) and Kale
  • Irish Lamb Stew
  • Leftover Lasagna

I’ve got a TON of running around to do today! Farmer’s market, Food Co-op, Whole Foods, Great Harvest Bakery…..

Oh! And to try to counteract some of the plastic waste that creeps into my life, Tim and I are attempting to make bagels this weekend. This should be interesting.

How do you prepare to be able to still cook good meals on weeknights? I’ve been trying to cook up as much food as possible ahead of time, but anything that has to do with fresh veggies is definitely made the night of.

  1. January 29, 2011 at 06:58

    I occasionally get round to freezing a soup or stew when I have leftovers, but I’m generally a fan of chucking veggies and whatever inspires me together in the evening. I finish work at 7:30pm so I am generally not that inspired; huge mixed salads, stir-fries, steamed veg, rice-cooker meals — or just beans on toast, baked potatoes or tinned soup with a mini salad on the side. But it’s easier as I’m just cooking for me — the boyfriend requires “proper” food (ie, meat and excitement) so I’ll often just eat out if we’re having dinner together!
    My favourite quick and dirty weeknight meal is ramen noodles (any brand that’s baked not fried) with Chinese broccoli (steamed above the water as it boils), sweet corn and peas (from the freezer, thrown in at the last minute) and marinated tofu (cut into cubes and tossed in before serving).

    • shortystylee
      January 29, 2011 at 20:26

      I’ve been trying to think up a couple things (like a soup or a curry dish) that I can make on Sundays and just requires reheating during the week. Otherwise my weeknight dinner are more of a thrown together sort of meal, various stir fries with different types of veg. My husband is pretty much okay with whatever I make as long as he doesn’t have to make it.

      Jessica

  2. January 29, 2011 at 18:08

    so jealous that you have a farmer’s market open in January. potato soup keeps popping up everywhere. will definitely have to make some after the veggie soup is gone. One of my favorite things to cook ahead and keep on hand is onions. I put them in almost everything but like them clear to caramelized, which takes awhile.

    • shortystylee
      January 29, 2011 at 20:05

      It’s pretty sweet that it’s year round, but it is definitely limited by what you can grow in Michigan in January. Mostly it is all types of meat, eggs, jams, and breads. However there are some farmers that have hoophouses and are able to grow lots of greens year round.

      I’m really excited about the potato soup. I got an immersion blender a few months ago and haven’t had a reason to use it yet… until now!

      Jessica

  3. January 30, 2011 at 20:43

    I linked over from Rowdy Kittens and found a fellow meal planner, heck yeah! My wife an I just started a meal planning business actually.

    • shortystylee
      January 31, 2011 at 12:48

      Thanks for stopping by! I think one of the most deterring things to planning out meals is that other things have to be planned to, like work schedules, appointments, exercise… it’s just one building block of an organized life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

