Home > Exercise, Food, Life > Goal Keeper: Hat Trick (#3)

Goal Keeper: Hat Trick (#3)

The only way that you can keep your goals is if you keep yourself accountable – not only to yourself but to those around you. That’s why I post my goals on here, that’s why I update my Twitter. Even if no one responds, I feel as if I have an obligation to keep my goals.

Whether good or bad, I’m going to try to check-in on Sundays to go over who my goals when the past Sunday to Saturday. Also, let’s see how long I can come up with cute “number” phrases for the post title.

2011 Goals
1.) Lose 13.5 pounds (from 113.5 to 100 pounds)
Current Weight: ~109 pounds
This was taken yesterday morning when I woke up. I had seen 109 once before in the week… so hopefully it is a pretty accurate reading.

2.) Work out five times per week.

  • Sunday: 3 mile run, ab work
  • Monday: 6am workout with Sarah (1 hr)
  • Tuesday: 25 minutes on trainer (morning)
  • Wednesday: 45 minutes on trainer (morning), 35 minutes on trainer (evening)
  • Thursday: 45 minutes on trainer (morning), 5k at the gym (evening)
  • Friday: 6am workout with Sarah (1 hr)
  • Saturday: 35 minutes on trainer (evening)

3.) Run a 5k
I have signed up for a 5k on February 6th in Novi, MI. I ‘ve good at running so far this week, as I managed to go on Sunday and Thursday. Hopefully I’ll make it out again 2-3 times this coming week. I meant to go on Wednesday too, but all the treadmills at our apartment gym were taken.

Thursday’s run was 5k in 34:37, which is probably the fastest I’ve done it in. I’ve been started at 5.2mph and going up by .1mph each quarter mile (the treadmill has an oval of lights that when it’s complete it is a quarter mile) and keeping it around 5.7mph for most of it.

I also signed up for the Warrior Dash! It’s July 30-31st in Flushing, MI. Apparently I’m a crazy ass that wants to wade in mud and crawl under barbed wire. Less exciting than the Warrior Dash is that I signed up for the Shamrocks and Shenanigans 5k in Ann Arbor on March 13th as well.

4.) Run/bike a duathlon
Thinking about signing up for the Willow Metropark Duathlon. It is 5k run, 20k bike, then another 5k run. Not signed up yet… I’m still thinking about it. I have been riding the trainer a lot to get used to being in the saddle. There are also some plans in the works to ride a century (100 miles) for the Race for the Cure this year as well.

5.) Eat meat only once per day or not at all.

  • Sunday: 0
  • Monday: 0
  • Tuesday: 0
  • Wednesday: 1
  • Thursday: 0
  • Friday: 0
  • Saturday: 1

6.) Eat dinner out once per week or not at all.
Didn’t happen this week, but I’m not really upset about it. We had dinner Tuesday night at Silvio’s for a Slow Food Huron Valley meet-up and we celebrated our 3rd wedding anniversary on Wednesday night at Grange.

7.) Volunteer with Earthworks Urban Farm in Detroit and Growing Hope in Ypsilanti.
I’ll be waiting until Spring to start working on these.

8.) Have my own garden in a Project Grow community garden.
Still haven’t heard from Project Grow…. and it still isn’t May yet. Waiting so long for this is going to be super difficult. I did find out this week that the full plots are about 750 square feet…. hopefully its a square or else I don’t know how else I will plan it.

__________________________________________________________
I think that this week was especially good for me was because my one coworker that I normally go out to eat for lunch with was only in the office on Monday, so I had to eat my packed lunch on Tuesday through Friday… not to mention that two-a-day workouts really make an impact!

I’m pretty scared nervous about my run next Sunday. I hope it doesn’t dip back down into the teens… or snow… or be on icy roads. Did you hear me, Michigan?! I need you to behave yourself!!

  1. January 31, 2011 at 15:57

    100 pounds? How tall are you if you don’t mind me asking? I’m only 5’2. I am still trying to lose weight and am MUCH heavier than that! I want to know your tricks! 🙂

    • shortystylee
      January 31, 2011 at 16:13

      Hi, Stephanie! Thanks for the comment 🙂

      I’m 4’11 inches tall and I have been since about 6th grade!
      I started out at 135 pounds in November 2009, as the result of sitting at a desk at my job for 9 hours a day.
      Since I didn’t have nearly as much weight as many people have to lose, it’s really hard to get discouraged – especially when you see people losing ~5 pounds a week! I just needed to realize that it is going to take much longer than other people… but eventually if I kept at it I would see results.

      I also learned that when you’re small to begin with, I really need to watch my calories. That extra helping or cookie (or whatever) makes such a bigger impact than on other people.

      Jessica

  2. slowsimpleconscious
    February 3, 2011 at 16:46

    wow, you have a lot of goals. and seem to be doing really well at all of them. well done! i’m jealous. i can’t seem to focus on anything!

    • shortystylee
      February 5, 2011 at 12:33

      I do a lot better when I have many tasks that I can organize. If I only have one thing to do I’ll put it off to the last minute.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

