Home > Food, Life > Adventures in Baking: Homemade Bagels

Adventures in Baking: Homemade Bagels

short girl bakes!

Tim Horton’s. Bruegger’s Bagels. Big Apple Bagels. Dunkin’ Donuts. Einstein Bros. You can give your money to them each morning.

Or. Or you can buy them and just toast them yourself.

There is an alternative #3. It is possible to bake your own bagels. If we can do it, so can you!

I just googled to find a recipe and I stumbled across this one from The Fresh Loaf, who took it from The Bread Baker’s Apprentice book.

My Recipe Notes

  • The recipes says to keep the bagels in the fridge overnight after you form them into the bagels shapes… we totally didn’t do this. I didn’t realize it was an overnight deal, so once I did, I made sure they were in the fridge for about 6 hours. Let’s just pretend that 6 hours is a full night’s sleep for bagels.
  • I highly recommend using your mixer to mix all the ingredients together but NOT to knead the dough. It is way too stiff.
  • You are supposed to knead in another 3/4 cup flour, we could only force another 1/2 cup in and it was fine.
  • I didn’t bother buying malt syrup, we just used brown sugar since we already had it on hand.


Just out of their good night’s day’s rest in the fridge


warm out of the oven and ready to eat!

They were super yummy, especially warm right out of the oven. We only made a plan variety, but once these are done we’ll definitely experiment a little bit with some more exciting flavors.

I decided to make these at first because I could not find bagels that were not packaged in plastic and I’d had bad experience with bakery bagels getting hard to quick (even in the fridge!). These were a great result. It made 12 bagels, and we froze half of them for next week’s breakfasts.

  1. February 2, 2011 at 11:42

    Impressive!!

    • shortystylee
      February 2, 2011 at 11:46

      Thank you! They weren’t as hard as I thought they would be 🙂

  2. February 2, 2011 at 16:03

    wow, so impressed with you! I’ve never tried bagels, always thought they’d be too time consuming. but I do love ’em, so looks like it’s time I tried. thanks, J!

    • shortystylee
      February 5, 2011 at 12:35

      It is a bit time consuming to make them, but a lot of the pre-baking time is just waiting for it to rise, so you can get lots of other stuff done 🙂

  3. slowsimpleconscious
    February 3, 2011 at 16:39

    i’ve been meaning to try bagels and crumpets from scratch for a while. think i might have foud my weekend project. thanks for the inspiration!

    • shortystylee
      February 5, 2011 at 12:31

      Let me know how they work out for you! We’re gonna try a different flavor next weekend nice the plain ones are done.

      Jessica

      • slowsimpleconscious
        February 7, 2011 at 03:18

        I am an ugly baker! this weekend I made ugly apple pies, ugly scones and these bagels were really ugly! tasted ok though, think I should’ve topped them to give them more flavour and my kneading technique needs work. shall try them again though, ta!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

