Home > Food, Life, travel, Weekly Menu > Saturday Planning – 2/13 to 2/20

Saturday Planning – 2/13 to 2/20

Planning my menus on Saturday before my grocery shopping trip is my go-to method for keeping organized and saving money by only buying what I need.

This coming Wednesday, the 16th, I leave for Colorado for a couple days of much needed vacation.

Pre-Colorado Meal Plan

  • Yakisoba with veggies
  • BBQ Tofu, Israeli Couscous, and a veg
  • Leftover Lasagna, for real this time

Colorado Meal Plan
When we are in Colorado, we’re spending the first night at my friend Amanda’s apartment and then it’s up bright and (really) early to head out to Copper Mountain. The five of us have a condo we’re staying in at the mountain with a full kitchen.

I have been tasked to create the meal plant for five people.

  • all meals have a vegetarian option (predominately for me)
  • all meals must be gluten-free or have that as an option

With that, here is my meal plan for Colorado.

Breakfasts each morning: fruit, bagels, eggs (hardboiled?), cereal (GF)
Lunch each day: vegetarian black bean chili
Dinner Thursday: Tacos, Mexican rice
Dinner Friday: Stir Fry
Dinner Saturday: some kind of curry, depending on what sauces the Whole Foods in Denver has

I’m super excited for Denver AND not being at work. The only problem is that I know the emails will be piling up while I’m out. Boo to that 😦

  1. Emily
    February 12, 2011 at 08:32

    loads of emails = EVIL.

    • shortystylee
      February 12, 2011 at 10:41

      Agree! Luckily there is another employee at my office with the same job as me, I even trained him. He’ll take care of anything urgent… hopefully.

  2. February 12, 2011 at 17:27

    I hope you enjoy your visit to our fair state! Hopefully our beautiful weather will hold. It’s supposed to be near 60 degrees in Denver through the end of next week. The mountains have been pounded with snow this year, and I think I saw on the news last night that most of the resorts have several feet of fresh powder so the skiing should be fantastic. My family comes from Leadville, which is just a few miles down the road from Copper Mountain, it’s beautiful country up there.

    If you can’t find what you’re looking for at Whole Foods you can try Sunflower Market http://www.sfmarkets.com/ or Vitamin Cottage Natural Grocers http://www.vitamincottage.com/ both of which are significantly cheaper than “Whole Paycheck”. And if you really want an adventure you can check out the year round farmers market at Denver Urban Homsteaders http://www.denverurbanhomesteading.com/market.htm. I’ve actually yet to make it there myself, so I can’t say for sure how it is, but it’s been on my “to do” list forever.

    Hope you have a wonderful trip!

    • shortystylee
      February 13, 2011 at 12:51

      Thanks! Colorado is such a beautiful state 🙂 This will be my second visit – we stayed in Breckenridge for a week last year.
      My friend just moved from the same town as me to Westminster, so we’re staying with her the first night, then a group of 5 of us have rented a condo in Copper for three days. I only picked WF because I know there is one right by her apartment, but it looks like there is a Sunflower Market not too far away either. Thanks for the tip 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

