Home > Food > A Tale of Two Curries

A Tale of Two Curries

It was the best of curries….

….well. It certainly was not the worst of curries. That’d suck.

My love for curry runs pretty deep and last week I made two different types: an Indian-ish curry with chickpeas, potatoes, and spinach, which was a brand-new recipe for me; and a normal quick-and-easy Thai mussaman curry with tofu, potatoes, and carrots.

Curry with Chickpeas, Potatoes, and Spinach
I found this recipe randomly on Food.com’s website. I really wanted to try it with the sweet potatoes, but there was no way that Tim would’ve eaten it 😦 so regular potatoes were a must.

It ended up being pretty tasty! I was a bit apprehensive about the diced tomatoes, since I am really am not a fan of most tomatoes, but they cooked down nicely. It was a bit more of a dry curry compared to the Thai curry I made.

Thai Mussaman Curry
This is a commonly made curry in my repetoire of easy meals. I’ve been able to find a brand of curry paste called Maesri that I really like.

1 can of curry paste + 2 cans coconut milk + whatever veggies/protein you want. Simple. Longest part is waiting for the rice to finish cooking.

Besides being fast and easy, it’s pretty cheap too 😛 What more could you ask for? One recipe makes about six portions for us. It’s also really good over udon noodles. Not authentic, but meh… details.

I also read on Twitter today that eating curry can help prevent cancer and Alzheimer’s… now we have another reason to eat it!

Categories: Food Tags: , , , , ,
  1. March 8, 2011 at 06:13

    That curry looks soo good. I want some right now with brown rice. Yum! I am short too.

    • shortystylee
      March 8, 2011 at 10:50

      Thanks for the comment!
      We have ours with brown rice every once in a while, but I buy a HUGE 25 pound bag of rice from the Asian grocery. I know brown rice is better for you, but I used to live in Japan and white rice is like comfort food to me, I can just eat it plain!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

