Home > Exercise, Food, Life > Goal Keeper: Dressed to the Nines

Goal Keeper: Dressed to the Nines

The only way that you can keep your goals is if you keep yourself accountable – not only to yourself but to those around you. That’s why I post my goals on here, that’s why I update my Twitter. Even if no one responds, I feel as if I have an obligation to keep my goals.

Whether good or bad, I’m going to try to check-in on Sundays to go over who my goals when the past Sunday to Saturday.

I haven’t done one of these in a while, so I’m not entirely sure which number I am at…. I’ll have to figure that out.

2011 Goals
1.) Lose 13.5 pounds (from 113.5 to 100 pounds)
Current Weight: ~109 pounds
Still at 109 pounds. Not sure right now if the exercise needs to be upped (as if it could anymore!) or maybe if the food needs to be looked at. Maybe I’ll check out the calories more often this week. I don’t eat a lot of packaged foods, so it’s more work to count calories. However, I wouldn’t trade that work for the processed foods.

2.) Work out five times per week.

  • Monday: 6am workout with Sarah
  • Tuesday: Six Week Six Pack (morning); 4 mile run (outside, afternoon)
  • Wednesday: 5:30pm work out with Sarah (1 hr)
  • Thursday: Six Week Six Pack (morning)
  • Friday: Six Week Six Pack (morning)
  • Saturday: off day
  • Sunday: Shamrocks & Shenanigans 5k (real update later)

Well, the bike came off the trainer yesterday. The weather is warming up and I have had less than zero motivation to ride the bike on the trainer… even if it is not quite warm enough to do it outside yet. This week is supposed to hit 50F (can you believe it!?) so with all luck I’ll get out there.

3.) Run a 5k
Done! Completed on 2/6/2011 with a time of 30:48.

New Goal 4.) Run the Detroit Free Press Half Marathon, without walking. For my run this past Tuesday, even though I didn’t go farther than I had before it was a big success for four reasons:

-got to run outside!
-nothing was sore or hurt during/after the run
-no stopping! not even to cross the road 🙂
-did 4 miles but I felt like I could keep going at the end

5.) Eat meat only once per day or not at all.

  • Sunday: 0
  • Monday: 0
  • Tuesday: 0
  • Wednesday: 0
  • Thursday: 1
  • Friday: 0
  • Saturday: 0

6.) Eat dinner out once per week or not at all.
We ate dinner out twice this week, which doesn’t meet this goal, but I was able to eat meat-less both times.

7.) Volunteer with Earthworks Urban Farm in Detroit and Growing Hope in Ypsilanti.
I’ll be waiting until Spring to start working on these.

8.) Have my own garden in a Project Grow community garden.
I’ve been accepted! Next weekend I’m going to a seed swap at Downtown Home & Garden and maybe Lisa will go with me 🙂

My race starts at 11:30am today…. I’m sure you’ll get a post later today or tomorrow about it 🙂

  1. March 15, 2011 at 21:30

    Congrats on finishing the road race! Also, awesome news that you have a community garden plot. I got a community garden plot last year and its been a great experience. What do you think you’ll be growing?

  2. March 15, 2011 at 21:44

    Just read your past post of getting a Project Grow plot. 750 square feet is A LOT of space! I’m envious! I buy my seeds from FedCo, which is a seed collective out of Maine. They are a small company that really cares about sustainable agriculture and its members. You save a lot of money by buying mail-order bulk seeds over purchasing seed packets at the hardware or grocery store.

    • shortystylee
      March 16, 2011 at 19:13

      I’m a little scared about the 750 square feet! Sometimes it seems like 750 ways to kill plants 😦 I’ll take a look at Fedco too!
      One of our locally owned gardening stores is having a seed swap this weekend so I’m going to try to find some of my seeds from last year and head there. They’re also having a heirloom tomato and pepper plant sale later in the year. My adventures in starting tomatoes and peppers from seed are less than fruitful (no pun intended!).

  1. March 13, 2011 at 09:24
  2. March 13, 2011 at 13:18

Leave a Reply

