Home > Exercise, Life > Shamrocks & Shenanigans 5k Update

Shamrocks & Shenanigans 5k Update

Today I ran in the Shamrocks & Shenanigans 5k in downtown Ann Arbor.

I’m really glad that it didn’t start until 11:30am, especially since last night was the Spring Forward night and we lost an hour of sleep. Got some breakfast and then headed out to the parking lot behind Conor’s to wait for the start. Temperature wasn’t that bad, either, it was about 36F out. Much warmer than my last race!

My knee felt pretty wonky this morning when I woke up. Really odd since I didn’t work out yesterday so I figure I just slept on it wrong. I figured I wouldn’t be able to beat my time from last month’s race but…..

I BEAT MY TIME!

Time: 30:16.9
Pace: 9:45 minute miles

I shaved 30 seconds off of last month’s run!

I also signed up for two more runs as well.
4/2/2011: Martian Invasion 5k in Dearborn, MI
5/22/2011: Back to the Beaches 5k in Shelby Twp, MI

That’s all for today! Hope your weekend was good too πŸ™‚

  1. March 13, 2011 at 19:10

    Great job on the race… I dont like races that start early either but they all seem too!

    cheers

    • shortystylee
      March 16, 2011 at 19:09

      Thanks! I’m actually okay with them happening early, that way I’ve got the rest of my day free. I think this one was later because of all the drinking at the Irish pub afterwards… they couldn’t end too early.

  2. March 13, 2011 at 20:46

    Awesome! And 2 more races! That should help motivate your weekly workouts!

    • shortystylee
      March 16, 2011 at 19:10

      Thanks! I’ve got to have something to keep me going πŸ™‚ Maybe we can find a race in the middle of us to do… why do I think you run? Am I making it up? I know you’re the P90X queen πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

