Home > Food, Life > Opposites, Old & New

Opposites, Old & New

This week has been mostly leftovers… which is AWESOME because the weather has decided to be amazing 🙂

These two recipes are, just as the title says, opposites of each and one is a new-to-me recipe and one is a usual one. An old dish, a new one. A vegan dish and a very, very non-vegan dish.

I found this recipe on The Food Network’s website, not on purpose though. We recently bought one of those really heavy dutch oven type pots and since we’ve only used it once so far I figured it was high time that we took it for another drive.

I found this by Googling “dutch oven recipes” and this looked like the best one. I was actually surprised at the number of recipes for breads!

It took a while to prepare this and the beef actually had to marinate over night. I was wary of the marinade since it was AN ENTIRE BOTTLE OF RED WINE with just some crushed garlic. The beef was purple! Actually very yummy and you could only taste a tiny tiny bit of the wine after it was cooked.

I consider this to be a staple dish on my menu planning since I don’t need to look at any directions (or it could just be simple… that too!). BBQ Tofu (original recipe from the Veganomicon), steamed broccoli, and Israeli couscous flavored with curry powder.

I’ve finished up a whole bottle of this barbecue sauce just from making this! We can’t grill at our apartment complex because we have a charcoal grill (boo) so this is the closest I get to “barbecue.” I bet someone in the South is dying when I say that.

So there you have it! An old dish, a new one. A vegan dish and a very, very non-vegan dish.

  1. March 19, 2011 at 07:40

    they both look great! I’m not a beef fan but I do love those carrots/potatoes from a stew. just so happens I recently bought some extra firm tofu to make a BBQ tofu recipe found on cooking.in.college, so I may just combine both your recipes to suit our tastes. thanks!!

  1. July 16, 2011 at 11:18
  2. January 13, 2012 at 12:10
  3. February 24, 2012 at 21:39
  4. March 19, 2012 at 05:10

Leave a Reply

