Home > Exercise, Life, recreation > A Long Time Coming, Update Part #1

A Long Time Coming, Update Part #1

Well, it certainly has been a long time since I have done one of these “update” things.

It has been a busy spring so far, so I’m going to do a little rundown (in a few posts) of what has happened in the past three months or so.

Races and Exercise
In the beginning of April, I ran the Martian Marathon 5k in Dearborn, MI. Sad that I still had to wear my long underwear because of the cold but GREAT because I met my goal of under thirty minutes! It was 29:51 overall. Also, the shirt was awesome.

The rest of April and May were filled with not much running and a lot more mountain biking and road biking, that is, when we weren’t getting constantly rained on.


my valiant steed

The weekend of May 21st brought our first ride in the Zoo-de-Mack, a 51 mile bicycle ride from Boyne Highlands Resort near Petoskey, MI to Mackinaw City, MI. It took us 3 hours and 15 minutes of ride time, with an hour in the middle for lunch.


spandex ftw


still lots of energy

Crazy enough, the next day I ran the Back to the Beaches 5k at Stoney Creek Metropark in Shelby Twp, MI. I was also under 30 minutes this time, at 29:53 overall. I was really surprised that I was able to run that quickly after such a long ride the night before… and once I saw that I was only two seconds slower than my record, I wished I could’ve just pushed a little bit more to beat it. Oh well. Next 5k isn’t until the Warrior Dash in July and I have no time goals for that one.

A week from tomorrow is the Tour de Cure Century Ride and you should donate to me, it’d be lovely of you 🙂

After that, I’m trying to figure out which running races I want to sign up for next. I’m thinking about the Romeo to Richmond 5k and the CRIM 8k. I need to start amping up a little bit after the Century in preparation for the half marathon.

  1. June 3, 2011 at 10:10

    I am happy to see you back…:) You have been gone quite a while. But I follow along on twitter, so I knew you had to be coming back. 🙂

  2. June 3, 2011 at 16:53

    She Lives!!!! Glad to know your absence was due to an over abundance of fun and not some horrible tragedy. Congratulations on all of your impressive athletic accomplishments!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

